Village of Millbrook Candidates Debate 2018

Monday, October 22, 2018 @ 6:00 pm
Millbrook Village Hall
35 Merritt Avenue, P.O. Box 349, Millbrook, NY 12545

Cosponsored by:
The Lakeville Journal and League of Women Voters of the Mid-Hudson Valley

Board of Trustees, Kyle Van De Water (REP) and Tim Collopy (Dem) will participate in the debate.
Candidates Cathy Doro (Rep) and Kevin McGrain (Dem) will not participate.

Moderator: Jolanda Jansen, League of Women Voters
Media questioner: Judith O’Hara Balfe, The Millerton News

This “classic” debate formula will be used. It will be a one-and-a-half hour event. The moderator, or the media or student questioner, will address a question to a candidate and the candidate has a set time to respond. There will be one questioner from the media, at least one student questioner, and audience questions will be written on cards and handed to vetters, who will then hand them to the moderator to ask them of the candidates.

There will be 1-minute statements of introduction by each candidate, and there will be 2-minute closing statements. Timekeepers from the League will be keeping time for the candidates and the moderator. The order of speaking will have been determined by a coin toss before the event.